Hello,
In the book I am studying I am confronted with the following program when it tries to explain div and mul (only part of the program here that is relevant):

opWord DW 100
sourceByte DB 50
sourceWord DW 4000

Start:

mov ax,
div ; al <-- ax div 2 right!?

mov ax,
mov dx,
div ; ax <-- ax,dx div

So my questions;

The first part is right isn't it. The answer being 2.

How about the second part is it ax*dx/ i.o.w. 50*50/4000? Or am I misinterpreting the way it works here? Any help would be greatly appreciated.

// SuperCali
Posted on 2001-09-07 18:39:36 by SuperCali
The only thing your missing is that dx:ax is divided, and that means dx*(2^16) + ax . dx:ax means a 32-bit value, dx as the most significant word and ax is the least significant word. The answer is 819.

(Damn child f**ked up my key_oard!) I can't type the letter "b" - I got that by cut-n-paste! So, now everytime I want to type the letter "b", I have to hit Ctrl-v! Arrr! I'm pissed! :mad:
Posted on 2001-09-07 18:56:52 by bitRAKE
Thanks for the help. At first I didn't understand how you got 819 but then I relised I had typed the text wrong if one looks at the code it's opWord (which is 100 not 50) that is injected into ax and dx so the answer would be twice 819.

Just a little follow up. I am now learning 16bit assembler but seeing as I will move on to 32bit once finished, I have another question. Would the two 16bit registers ax and dx then make up the 32bit register eax? And if so this would be an easier way to write the above code in 32bit:

mov eax, 6553700
div

// SuperCali
Posted on 2001-09-07 19:24:15 by SuperCali
bbbbbb, ah the "b" works now! :) Just took the keyboard apart, but not before being covered in water! It was full of water, and still mostly worked, wow!