some time ago i started coding an mp3Player on my win98 system. i want to upgrade to winXP, but some tests showed me, that it doesn't run under winXP. the ownerdrawn windows and button appear, but the window itself is transparent (i can "see" throuh it). i cant move it and no button has a label. also, no button has any function (i.e nothing happens if i click on it). currently i use the mci-system to play the music.
before i used fmod for playing - on starting my mp3Player winXP just spits out this message:

"diese anwendung ist keine zul?ssige Win32-Anwendung"

(translation)
"this application is not a valid Win32-application"

so, what the hell? winXP doesnt even allow me to start my prog?! but that happens to almost every assebler-application i wrote and i get.
is there any security-option activated which prevents to launch such "minimalist"-applics?
almost same to SoftIceNT - but thats another story...

greets, hartyl
Posted on 2003-01-19 04:55:02 by hartyl
maybe the PE alignement is too low... try to recompile using default settings.
Posted on 2003-01-19 04:58:55 by JCP
May not be exactly the same issue but just in case...

I had a similar problem when i tried to run an app on XP - worked fine on 98 but then the windows became transparent running on XP. These were windows with their own dialog proc...

Adding XOR eax,eax to the end of the dialog proc stopped them from becoming see thru
Posted on 2003-01-19 10:33:04 by MurkyT
nah! i just wanted to copy RadASM (my standard ide) on winXP to work there - but what the heck? same error? invalid win32-application? i can't get winXP!
@MurkyT: i'll try to add the xor eax,eax
@Readiosys: i'm used to use the default settings. any special options with the assembler of the masmv6-package?
Posted on 2003-01-19 11:10:47 by hartyl
I think readiosys is right here, it seems win98 doesn't care about file alignment as NT systems do...
May you try to recompile it and even add garbage as padding ?