Hi. I'm still a newbie :grin: and would appreciate someone critiquing my command line settings. I'd like to make sure I'm not missing anything or using an option I shouldn't.

Environment setup: I'm using the MASM32 7.0 (MASM 6.14) package with ML and Link replaced by the ones provided in the VC++ 6 Processor Pack (MASM 6.15). I'm able to use Codeview to debug 16-bit programs and use Visual C++ 6 to debug 32-bit (specifically Win32) programs. I use the shareware editor EditPlus 2 as my IDE as ASMEdit and RadASM are a little overwhelming in their features right now, plus I have EditPlus setup for C/C++ development and other command line tools like exe2bin.

1. These are my debug command lines for Win32 and 16-bit assembly.

For Win32 (Iczelion's tutorials compile with these.)
ML /c /coff /Cp /Zi /nologo (FileName)
Link /DEBUG /DEBUGTYPE:CV /PDB:NONE /SUBSYSTEM:WINDOWS /LIBPATH:d:\masm32\lib /nologo (FileNameNoExt).obj; or
Link /DEBUG /DEBUGTYPE:COFF /PDB:NONE /SUBSYSTEM:WINDOWS /LIBPATH:d:\masm32\lib /nologo (FileNameNoExt).obj;

(I found Codeview output easier to follow then COFF under the VC++ 6 debugger.)

For 16-bit
ML /c /Zi /Zd /Zm /Fl /nologo (FileName)
Link16 /CODEVIEW /nologo (FileNameNoExt).obj; (Renamed the link.exe that comes with Masm 6.11d to link16.exe)

2. Also (if you're still reading thank you), would the optimal release command line switches be

For Win32
ML /c /coff /Cp (FileName)
Link /release /SUBSYSTEM:WINDOWS /LIBPATH:d:\masm32\lib /nologo (FileNameNoExt).obj;

For 16-bit
ML /c /Zm /nologo (FileName)
Link16 /nologo (FileNameNoExt).obj;

3. PS: Does anyone know if there's a command line that can automatically invoke VC++ 6's debugger? Is there a freeware Win32 debugger (like OllyDbg?) that can take a command line argument and symbolically debug codeview/coff?
Posted on 2003-01-19 10:32:57 by Masmer
for the vs debugger u should be able to do this...

"%vsinstalldir%\devenv.exe" mycode.asm /debugexe mycode.exe