Well im approaching the great IUnknown again (get it ~ bad pun).

Im will need to create an event handler for both Excel and Autocad. I have the interfaces described to me (thanx to Japheth's ComView tool), however, I've never tried to create one before.

So in the interest of perhaps starting a conversation, I was wondering if anyone has any advice, examples, or pitfalls from bad experinces that they might want to share..

Anywho, for now its time to burry by head in a book ;)
Thanx again...
:alright:
NaN
Posted on 2003-02-10 18:31:54 by NaN
Advice? Hehehe, use VB :grin:

Nah, don't do that... But, Good luck in your journeys.. and don't forget to inform us on your way so we can learn from it cause I know I will have to jump into COM one day.....
Posted on 2003-02-10 19:34:49 by Gunner
Nan, might I humbly refer you to my tuts on sinking and sourcing events?

You sink an event if you want to know when an event happens. You source it if you're the blob that controls the event.

One warning, I have a dim memory of a bug lurking inside the code, something like if you use multiple instances of the source code they will all share the same event sink list, and each should have its own list.
Posted on 2003-02-10 19:57:02 by Ernie
NaN,
Maybe I'm way off base on what you are asking but,
have you looked at the WebBrowserSample that comes with
ComView. It supports events. I figure I must be off base here because I know of the detailed conversations you and Japheth have had. Just my 2cents.

Wayne
Posted on 2003-02-10 21:54:28 by Wayne
Hi,

the macros handling events in the webbrowser sample hide most of COM's event stuff. In fact a whole class (CEvents, inheriting from IDispatch) is defined. So if you really want to know how COM handles these things and want to understand connection points I would suggest NOT to use the macros and do it the "hard" way. Anyway it is much more fun :) .

Japheth
Posted on 2003-02-11 03:39:33 by japheth