OK, this is important for me. I do understand how a basic server-client connection work and have implemented a quick chat room program in WinSock. My next goal is to create a multiple connection (possibly a UDP/IP connection, I'm still learning) server. And my question is not what is the best way to make such connections and transmit data but what would be certainly a good (and fast) way of doing so. So I'm turning to you guys, I know some of you are more experienced and can help. So here is a detailed explanation of what I would like to do:

I want to have a machine that picks to be a server. The user of that machine then gives out his/her server ip to 3 or more (possibly up to 16, but is meaningless at this point, it just has to be more than 1, then I will be able to pull it off with as many as I need) clients. These clients connect to the server. Up to this point I'm pretty much an expert (with both TCP and UDP techniques). So the following are the questions that need to be answered:

1. Is it reasonable/possible to have a blocking connection-oriented TCP/IP based network to have more than 1 clients exchange information with each other and the server?

2. Or is it best to go with UDP/IP to pull such thing off?

3. If it's best to use UDP for this over TCP; why?

And the most important one: