Does anyone know about a free/commercial library which can be used for image recognition / pattern matching?

Thing is, that I need to code a software which takes a digicam picture and recognizes which part (bumper parts... I work in the automotive industry) the picture shows.
The position of the cam and the part is fixed because the picture is made while the part is in a machine. The lighting on the part can be differ a bit.

I am currently trying to make something like this myself, but am curious if I could save some work :)

My current approach is to convert the image to black/white (monochrome) and look for about 40 fixed points (pixels) where the picture must be black/white. Would you know a better way of doing it?
Posted on 2003-03-05 02:35:02 by bazik
Interesting project... I've never thought about something like this before... I know my webcam supports motion recognitoin, it displays the areas of the picture that are different in a grid like pattern over the picture. Maybe that might help for some ideas or direction...

James:alright:
Posted on 2003-03-05 15:03:23 by JamesE
Well, I dont need a motion detection, I need something like a "object" detection.
I already hacked something out today and I might get a first working thing over the weekend :/
Posted on 2003-03-05 15:05:03 by bazik
I don't know any library that exists out there but here's a start http://www.ri.cmu.edu/projects/project_416.html there's an object recognition on that page as well as face recognition. The only place I've seen something like this, is on the airport.
Posted on 2003-03-06 01:14:07 by arkane
I know that I'm on a thin line with what I'm about to post, but anyways.... :rolleyes: