Hi there,
since my young age I'm wondering how windows works and I'm trying to code something really orginal, not that many on the market: a Firewall ;)

I think I read all it can be written and found on the Net. Read all the Firewalling techniques and must admit:

[*]LSP (Layered Service Providers) sounds like crap (you can still bypass it), even more if to be coded in Win32Asm, in which I'm still a noob
    [*]Windows Hooking + DLL injecting = Crap. Hooks, to say it briefly, work only on "Windowed" applications, console apps or services get through.
    [*]Proxy DLL : don't even want to speak about it ;)

There ore others, the list is long

Two are stayiing in my mind:

[*]Process execution detection via "Notify" API + API hooking/patching (to solve: "ordinal loaded" API problem) could be nice if performed at boot, via a Service...
      [*]Second solution could be to Hook INT 2eh at kernel lvl and then patch in memory created process.

The info I'm asking is:
      am I mad to code a Firewall in Win32Asm?
      as anybody ever tried? Could be nice if someone told me I'm at least on the right way (one of the last two)
      Does anybody see any other good, "Asmable" hooking mechanism?
      And Jolly question: DLLs are mapped in every process. Good, now, is there a way to patch in memory the "master copy", the image loaded by the Kernel, which is then "copied" (if needed, if not shared) in every process? 9x and NTs

Thanks,

Ka.

P.S. At the moment I'm very far from finishing. Have a nice Service with all the Winsock APIs exported ;)
Posted on 2003-03-11 19:23:19 by KaSt
Hi KaSt,
no you are not mad to write firewall in win32asm, you are actually crazy and dont know what you are into :) just kidding :tongue:
AFAIK there is only one article about writing firewalls for windows NT platform, you can find it on www.codeproject.com site, do a little search