I know asm for the TI-83 plus calc that has a 8 bit z80 cpu in it.
So with that in mind what do you think is good tut I should read yo learn x86 asm?
Posted on 2003-03-18 00:40:16 by Josh160
Iczelion's at the top of this forum are very good also MadWizard has a very good one

http://spiff.tripnet.se/~iczelion/

http://www.madwizard.org/view.php?page=tutorials.contents

Donkey
Posted on 2003-03-18 00:44:42 by donkey
thanks, these look like some good tuts.
Posted on 2003-03-18 00:56:39 by Josh160
Posted on 2003-03-18 01:33:56 by roticv
Josh,

Also have a look at Randy Hyde's Art of Assembler. Randy runds a forum here so if you ask a question there, he may be able to help you. Its the HLA forum.

You will find x86 assembler is a lot different to what you have done but if you have a head for the logic, you may be able to get the swing of it.

Regards and good luck.

hutch@movsd.com
Posted on 2003-03-18 03:19:30 by hutch--
I'm also a newbie to x86 assembly and would like to comment on this subject as I see it.

There are many, many resources for learning 16-bit x86 assembly, most of which will run in the DOS terminal of the various Win32 OSes. A basic understanding of PC architecture (registers, buses, memory, etc.) is required to start making sense of what assembly language is and does on the PC. Of the *many* books I've hoarded it the last few months, the one I've really enjoyed *learning* from is the Microsoft Macro Assembler Bible (2nd edition covers MASM 6.x and is coauthored by Randall Hyde of the Art Of Assembly fame). A book like this will introduce you to using assembly language for the PC, including many of the various opcodes and directives that are used in Masm32.