Hello,

I am new to ASM and I use it mostly inline in Delphi and VC++.

What I am trying to achieve is running a file from memory without dumping it on a harddrive first. I know it is possible, exepackers do it, too. However, I can't figure out how.

The following Delphi code results in endless Access Violations;

var
FS: TFileStream;
Mem: TMemoryStream;
Addr: Pointer;
begin
FS := TFileStream.Create('c:\myexe.exe', fmRead);
Mem := TMemoryStream.Create;

Mem.CopyFrom(FS, FS.Size);
Addr := Mem.Memory;

asm
JMP Addr
end;
end;

The Addr is a valid pointer to the memory containing the executable. Recently someone tipped me that the executable part of a PE file is not at the beginning and I should jump elsewhere. I have no idea how to figure out where it really starts and I think just a JMP is not going to do what I want.

Can anybody help me?
Thanks a lot,
- Fahr
Posted on 2003-03-20 13:29:25 by Fahr
Afternoon, Fahr.

Would you like to inform us as to why you wish to execute a pe32 file from memory?

Cheers,
Scronty
Posted on 2003-03-20 15:50:23 by Scronty
Well, first of all, cuz it is possible and intreguing.
Second, I am looking to rewrite an eZine engine I did for DeBUG Inc. a while back (www.debuginc.com), it works all fine, but it dumps temp files on harddisk when running, cuz it needs a separate DLL to operate and more of that crap. I am investigating methods to load the exefile from resource into mem and start it from there.

no scriptkiddie intentions if that's what you mean. I am a professional programmer, I program for a living and my kiddie days are far over.

- Fahr
Posted on 2003-03-20 16:08:35 by Fahr
Afternoon, Fahr.

Thanks for the clarification:alright: .

From a quick search of the board, it seems to do what you wish means that you've got to basically create your own PE loader.
For doing that, the best examples I've found are on Iczelions' site:
http://win32asm.cjb.net
under "PE Tutorials"