Hi Everyone,

I am new to ASM, am coming along. I am using GoASM, but can follow the syntax of MASM well enough.

I am wanting to create, write to, and read from a one-dimensional array of strings. I will make the strings maximum of 32 bytes length, and will zero-terminate them.

I realize that an "array" is a high-level concept, and that in ASM a block of memory is just that - a block of memory. Forgive those of us who are weak and still think in HLL, we'll get there ;)

I looked at the information given in Hutch's ASMIntro help file, under "Calculating Affective (sic) Address", which uses [ Base Address + Index * Scale + Displacement ]. I must be inplementing it wrong. What I did was:

mov eax, [ Base Address + Index * Scale + Displacement ]
or
lea eax, [ Base Address + Index * Scale + Displacement ]

and then using eax as the address sent to the lstrcpy function in the WinAPI, but this bombs very nicely, so I am not understanding something. In the function call I tried eax, and .

I think I understand that "Base Address" is essentially the label of where the data is stored, "Index" is - well it is the index, how else can you say it -, the "Scale" is the data size (32 in this case), and the "Displacement" is not applicable in this example of a one-dimension array. So, am I on the right track?

Can anyone post a simple example of how to do this either in MASM (without HL contructs or macros) or GoASAM syntax?

:stupid: Greg
Posted on 2003-03-28 06:47:48 by bushpilot
at first, your array strings should have not a maximal size of 32, but an _exact_ size of 32, so you can easy navigate with an index value (this will be the same fact in HHL too). The address-mode you wrote, cannot be used here, since the scale factor is limited to 16 (I think), but you can easily calculate the correct address with plain and simple math:

MY_ENTRY_SIZE equ 32

.data

xStrings: db "Hallo Welt", 22 dup(0)
db "1234567890123456789012345678901", 0
db "This is line three", 14 dup(0)

.code