Well it was me that bitched about starting an electronics forum and this is the reason why.

I like electronics but i have little experience when it comes to digital. I have built regulated power supplies and thats about it.

I have an idea to build a simple device to access and store bytes on a serial eeprom (24AA16 by microchip) that can be displayed on a 2 X 16 LCD display by use of a simple keypad.

The problem is i have never attempted this before so i don't really know the interfacing principles or the actual components required.

Besides the discrete items such as pull up resistors, power supply, caps, a clock ..what components are required?

AAAAny help appreciated.
Posted on 2003-03-30 21:07:29 by IwasTitan
Well, I only have some bits of basic electronics knowledge but I think I've seen some drawing for a programmable RAM/EEPROM and some 4 diods as "stdout", I'll take alook in the book and see if I can scan the drawing and the "how to build"-part (in swedish though), I'll have to see if there is some copy limitations for the book's contents.
I think the basics are the same for RAM and EEPROM, but I don't know.
I found an drawing of a circut that uses a RAM chip, and will loose it's programmning at power loss. From what I can read out, there is three ICs (one 74132(schmit-trigger chip, chip refernce says: "Quadruple 2 input nand schmitt trigger"), one 7493("4-bit binary counter") and one 7489 (a 16*4 bits RAM, "64-bit Read/Write Memory")).
After reading the copyright notice, I see that it's clearly stated the copying is prohibited. (sorry)
Posted on 2003-03-30 22:55:28 by scientica
A PIC would be one likely candidate for the interface, but that means you'll need a programmer for it.

I seem to remember the Basic Stamp has a serial interface built in, so you can code it right off a PC. So for a higher per piece price (and having to code it in Basic) you get a simpler implimentation.