I'm trying to code my first assembler (MASM32) program, and I need help...
-- by the way: excuse me for silly questions (I'm a beginner) & excuse me for my bad english (I'm Italian).

What the program should do:
take an array of longs from another program and represent them as a graph in a window

I've chosen to make a DLL (so it's simple to pass data, for the caller) which declares it's own Window Class, creates a window and has it's own Window Procedure.

Since there can be more than one instance of the graph-window, the array of points cannot be global, it has to be local to the window procedure, otherwise every window'd display the same graph.

Some_EXE
|
| array_of_Y_points (data to be passed from the exe to the dll)
|
Chart_DLL (my program)
DrawChart (function called by Some_EXE)
|
? array_of_Y_points
|
WndProc (window procedure)

Problem:
How do I pass the array_of_Y_points from DrawChart to WndProc?

My solution:
I stored a pointer (pY) to the array in the window extra bytes (cbWndExtra) using:

invoke SetWindowLong, hWnd,0,pY ; write pY in cbWndExtra
invoke GetWindowLong, hWnd,0 ; read pY from cbWndExtra

What I get is an Access Violation ERROR!
everything's ok as long as I OPEN or RESIZE graph-windows, but if I close one... mayhem
actually, if I've opened windows 1,2 and 3, and now close window 3, nothing happens but if I close window 1 or 2 and try to resize another: error.

Should I use HeapCreate & HeapAlloc and make a copy of the entire array?
Isn't there a simple solution where I have NOT to copy the array?
And anyway, why does my solution not work?

Thank you very much!
Posted on 2003-04-18 16:06:44 by MayBe
Is the window created with cbWndExtra memory allocated ? You can also pass the pointer to the array in the GWL_USERDATA nIndex:

invoke SetWindowLong, hWnd,GWL_USERDATA,pY
invoke GetWindowLong, hWnd,GWL_USERDATA
Posted on 2003-04-18 16:15:49 by donkey
A standard template i like to do in practice with window procedures is: