What is the logic behind the function of flip flops and what are their main applications.

In other words what makes them so usefull.

I've been reading up on one particular Flip flop by National Semiconductor. There are 4 inputs and two outputs. (actually two sets)

What are some applications for this type.

Go easy...I'm new to digital.

Any help appreciated.
Posted on 2003-04-21 19:57:06 by IwasTitan
Another name for a flip-flop is a "latch". It can be used to 'latch' onto the status of a digital signal line and save or store the status of that line. In other words, you may have noticed the flop has one input called a clock and another called d for data. If d is high and the clock is 'clocked' the output on the Q side will be the same as d while Q/ (Q NOT) will be the opposite of Q.

Since the Q outputs only change on the transition of the clock input, the flop can also be used as a divide by two frequency divider. What happens is you can have, say, a 2mhz clock on the clock input. The Q/ output is fed back to the d input. If d is HI, and the clock clocks, then Q will go high and Q/ will go low. Since Q/ is connected to d, d will also go low. Then, on the next transisition of the clock, Q will go low while Q/ and d go high. The consequence is a divide by two of the clock input.

Now I described the easier of the flip flops, the dflop like a 7474. There are also JK flip flops which work, essentially, the same but they have two inputs and I'm out of time. More later.
Posted on 2003-04-21 20:19:52 by drhowarddrfine
Flip-flops are also the simplest form of memory. AFAIK most registers in the computer are implemented via some sort of flip-flop. This is because the flip-flop can maintain a state.
Posted on 2003-04-21 22:16:39 by AmkG