I am very interested in learning ASM but I don't know what books are good or where to start, I am a complete newbie. I have been recommended "Art of Assembly Language (16-bit Edition)" to learn Assembly Language first, but I wanted to know what you guys think of it. I do plan on learning Win32ASM but I want to learn 16-bit ASM first, just to understand everything.
Also, I have tried other languages but I really don't like them because I don't like not knowing what the computer is doing, it bothers me. :)
Posted on 2003-04-24 14:02:07 by i7e6y
yes thats the route i took (16-bit first then win32asm)....a really good book i used was peter abel's IBM PC Assembly Language and Programming

it doesn't cover floating point stuff in asm, tho...for that u mite find Art of Assembly useful (also for other things since it has good info on cpu architecture, altho i think its a bit outdated, thats what randall hyde himself told me a while back)...newer books on operating systems and CPU architecture will also help
Posted on 2003-04-24 14:09:17 by AnotherWay83
"Art of Assembly Language" and 16 bit assembly is not the best way to learn assembly language. Just download Iczelion's tutorials and some good instruction reference. Install masm32 (or FASM, IMHO fasm is beter for beginer) and write, write, write. :)
Try to compile some example programs. Change something and try again. Good luck!

Regards.
Posted on 2003-04-24 14:14:42 by JohnFound
i7e6y, I too am a relative beginner to assembly. Since I don't know the Win32 API, my plan is to study 16-bit assembly (concentrating on x86 opcode use and MASM directives, keeping in mind that Win32asm is non-segmented), then Win32 API using C, then applying my knowledge to tackling Win32asm. Meanwhile, I find 16-bit assembly very interesting.