Hi guys. I'm a beginner on ASM, and have a lot of questions in mind!

One of them is related to Invoke and CALL (I'm using MASM to code).

I'll show an example (I don't know if theses examples are right. Correct me if you see it's wrong, I'm a newbie):

Let's say I want to call the DispatchMessage function in Assembler.

In C++, all that we could do is this:

DispatchMessage(&msg);

In Assembler, using the Invoke command, we could do:

Invoke DispatchMessage, ADDR msg

But how Do I do this using the Instruction CALL?

I know that we have to push all the parameters to the STACK (in inverse order) before we call the function, but I don't know a similar for ADDR.

For example:

push msg
CALL DispatchMessage

It won't work because we have to pass 'msg' as an Adress (Segment:Offset).
I tryied to use this:

push OFFSET msg
CALL DispatchMessage

But it didn't work to, because OFFSET only returns the Offset part of the adress.
So, how do I get the Segment:Offset of an Adress, so I can push the correct value and call the DispatchMessage function?

Thank you a lot
Fernando
Posted on 2003-04-24 15:24:59 by FERNANDO-BRASIL
lea eax,msg (or mov eax,offset msg
push eax
call ....

Raymond
Posted on 2003-04-24 15:29:31 by Raymond
Why I can't do

push OFFET msg

directly, and have to do this:

mov register, OFFSET msg
push register

?

Sorry for the stuped question...
Fernando
Posted on 2003-04-24 15:38:37 by FERNANDO-BRASIL

It won't work because we have to pass 'msg' as an Adress (Segment:Offset).

No, you only pass the offset in win32asm, thus the address is simply the offset, using
push offset msg

call DispatchMessage

is how we can do it, take a look in for instance \masm32\example3\tstyle\tstyle1\tstyle1.asm (line 145, btw \masm32\example3\tstyle\tstyle2\tstyle2.asm contians the same code on line 175) there you can see the above lines, in a working example.