hi,
i am just starting to learn assembly and the current project i am trying right now is a dll for mandelbrot set. I have written a program in vb that does the mandelbrot picture which includes zooming and all that. now i watn to translate the calculation of the mandelbrot set itself into asm and then call the procedure from vb (just to start with). i have the high-level algorithm which i understand fully and i know how to create simple dlls in asm (masm32 in this case) as well as how to pass parameters to that dll using masm32's sintax

ProcName proc Var1:DWORD, Var2:DWORD etc.

now the first problem among many is how to pass values other than dword. for this particular case i need to pass two real numbers and two dwords. the real numbers would be double precision floating point number ie. 8 byte. for now i have tried just to use single precion number (4 byte) which are the same size a dword. i made a little procedure that simply returns the one parameter that it was given:

mov eax, TheParamter
ret

if i set the parameter to be a DWORD or a REAL4 and i pass an integer (VB's Long) to the procedure, it returns the same integer which is good. if i pass a single precision number (VB's Single) to the same procedure it returns something completely different. so the first question is how to pass real numbers to my dll, and more precisely how to pass double precision reals.