This still bugs me, since the day I started programming:

Imagine, you're programming something that automates a routine for a nuclear reactor or a robot arm in space. What if something goes wrong with your program and as a result, lives were lost. Are you responsible for the deaths of these people?

... Yes? because you were the one responsible for the code or you were part of it... you should have done your job by thinking hard and look at the code for other potential shit.
... No? because it's just a common human error(human imperfection), it was not intentional, unexpected things happens.

:)
Posted on 2003-05-12 02:33:49 by arkane
there are always 2 parties involved, the other party has to check and accept your code as being up to their standards of safety. Once they do you're in the clear since it's not your fault that either their standards or their level of checks weren't high enough. :P
Posted on 2003-05-12 02:55:54 by Hiroshimator
well, yeah that's true but you will still have that guilt inside your head. :grin:

aha that's why there are terms of service to protect you but still... in "actuality", forgetting about terms of service and all legal papers you signed to protect yourself, you kinda feel guilty... don't you? :grin:
Posted on 2003-05-12 03:02:29 by arkane
If you supply the software, and the customer signs off on the deal, then they have signed that they accept it in its current form, including imperfections. If the customer then found an issue, but still continued to use the software, then that is their problem, not yours. Should the death be the result of a previously undiscovered bug, then the customer obviously didn't test it enough.

The simple fact is: nothing is perfect. You can do your best to get your software perfect by using automated test tools and QA testers, but they can still miss something.

So the short answer is no, i wouldn't feel guilty, just maybe a little sad.
Posted on 2003-05-12 03:11:04 by sluggy