OK, in this part i am a complete noob, i want to know the diferences betwen plug-in and a add-in and the adventages/disventages, i think now that plug is like connect to and a add-in is more like other program that you add???

Ok also i have other litle question regard this, if i decide code a control can be used as both, or only can be one??, also, how can i connect and app with other things outside??, need a 'interface'???

Only a end thing, how is the WindowsUpdate work, normally when i need update for example.. editor or some, you normally download all the principal progam and other dlls, etc, but for example in some games you can download patch.. that i think do that.. and not need reload the wole package, and how i can do that?? a patch?? for not download the whole??

in fact the question that encloses my anterior questions is how i can develop a expandible app (with the use of plug-in, add-in or controls with a ?respective interface? or any other method) with a easy update???
Posted on 2003-05-18 19:33:02 by rea
Afternoon, hgb.

Chuck everything into various dlls which can be updated individually.

Work out a design for an interface between your main exe and the dlls.

Cheers,
Scronty
Posted on 2003-05-19 03:52:04 by Scronty
Morning Sronty ;)

and the part of update??, i think it will be "more" fast if can have other program/plug-in that let me for example.. if in my programm/dll have a funciton that i want update, but make a asumption that the size of the dll is 5 megs :) and the function in that i update in the file is only 80 bytes long and the new is 54bytes long.. do you think is reasonable download 5 megs?? instead of 54 bytes +/- including the format for make the update???

I think now in a format like cvs.. or some like that...
Posted on 2003-05-19 09:56:26 by rea
Afternoon, hgb.

If you want to modify code inside a dll, then you might as well stop asking right now. This is a no-no discussion on this board.

However...