Hey guys, its great to be part of an asm forum for once ;> I'm interested in asm coding, the only reason i dont do it much it because i do mostly windows coding....

for those of you still reading after my previous statement, thanks >;]

I'd like some help with a small project i'm working on. Well, my main problem is language specific. I'm a delphi/vb/c++ coder, and I dont often use asm and its kind of a pain to deal with certain things that I didn't have to worry about with a high level lang. But thats the price you pay for low level POWER ;>

My problem is this.

I'm inputting strings from the console, first of which is a key and the rest a message to encrypt. I know its easy, ive done it years ago in other langs but now suddenly its a daunting task! Things i need to know how to do are:

get a string thats stored in the dx register into a var declared as "key db 255 dup('$')"

please dont say i need to put the length of the read string into cx, and loop thru them ALL and mov byte by byte into my var. I have to do operations like this a LOT in my project.

Other issues are determining whether a given character in a byte is within the range of A-Z! I know the ascii bounds but there's no easy way to do double conditions....

I appreciate any help guys.

- x86 0101
Posted on 2003-05-27 17:21:42 by x86 0101
String pointed by dx? Are you talking about int 21h? Then, forget it. Check out the following APIs in your SDK documentation (or, MSDN web site)

ReadConsole()
ReadConsoleInput()
PeekConsoleInput()

They must be what you want.

<edit>
If you get the input by line, you can use ReadFile() instead of above APIs, which puts the string to the buffer you specified.
</edit>
Posted on 2003-05-27 19:55:06 by Starless
are you serious? hmmm.. what the hell kinda asm am I learning then? lol