I am completely new to Assembly Language, and just can't seem to get anything going. I downloaded "HLA", since this seemed like a good place to start. I installed HLA, and everything seemed to be going just fine, until I tried to run a sample program from the intro to Randall Hyde's "Art of Assembly Language". I just keep getting the same message: "could not open hw.hla". What does this mean? How can I fix this problem? I have attached a screenshot of the DOS Window.

I also downloaded The RadASM IDE, and tried to run this sample program with it, but I keep getting error messages, and it doesn't seem to do anything. Should I select "Build", "Run", "Go", or what do I do to produce any output?

This is really frustrating. I've spent about 12 hours all up trying to get something happening, but nothing I do seems to work. Have I chosen the right place to start? Can anybody recommend a good resource for complete beginners?

Thanks.
Posted on 2003-05-29 06:11:01 by Bustaroms
In my experience the major problem that most people have with HLA the first time through is the environment variables. Check my RadASM help file to see how to set them up.
Posted on 2003-05-29 06:18:51 by donkey
PS:

You should select build to assemble your project. hw.hla is the source code you are sending to your compiler. It should be found, check the path options in the Option menu to make sure that everything is OK there as well. You need to install MASM32 to have HLA work properly.
Posted on 2003-05-29 06:24:36 by donkey
Also in Project Options try setting the Assemble command to 5,O,$A\HLA.EXE -v,11
Posted on 2003-05-29 06:27:24 by donkey
Donkey,

Thanks for your help.

Firstly, where is your RadASM Helpfile located? Secondly, I have already installed MASM32.

Do you have any idea why DOS returns the message "Could not open hw.hla"? This really concerns me.
Posted on 2003-05-29 06:36:32 by Bustaroms