Can someone explain this code from Iczelion's Tut3...

mov wc.cbSize,SIZEOF WNDCLASSEX
mov wc.style, CS_HREDRAW or CS_VREDRAW
mov wc.lpfnWndProc, OFFSET WndProc
mov wc.cbClsExtra,NULL
mov wc.cbWndExtra,NULL
push hInstance
pop wc.hInstance
mov wc.hbrBackground,COLOR_WINDOW+1
mov wc.lpszMenuName,NULL
mov wc.lpszClassName,OFFSET ClassName
invoke LoadIcon,NULL,IDI_APPLICATION
mov wc.hIcon,eax
mov wc.hIconSm,eax
invoke LoadCursor,NULL,IDC_ARROW
mov wc.hCursor,eax
invoke RegisterClassEx, addr wc

Please bear with me... I haven't programmed anything in years, and I am NOT an ASM GuRu, and DEFINATELY don't understand much of this windows stuff. I'm an old DOS programmer. :(

Ok,Correct me if I'm wrong here... The 'mov' statements use the 'C' calling convention, meaning that the rvalue is placed in the lvalue... Right? And, just the opposite with the 'invoke' statements... Using the PASCAL calling convention, the lvalue is placed into the rvalue... Right?

What is 'wc' in the wc.style, wc.lpfnWndProc, etc..? WindowsClass? What is 'cb' in cbSize, cbClsExtra, etc..? What is the 'lpsz' in lpszClassName ? LongPointerSize? What is 'lpfn' in lpfnWndProc? LongPointerFunction? How about 'mov wc.hIcon,eax'<?>'WindowsClass.HandleIcon'??? ... And, is this putting the or the $address contained in the eax register into the STRUCT/VAR wc.hIcon? Maybe it doesn't matter, but, would help me to understand just what the abbreviations is for.

What does ' mov wc.hbrBackground,COLOR_WINDOW+1 ' do? Increment some default window color code? Turn something on/off (BOOL)? What is the 'hbr' for?

Icze: Your tuts are very informative, but they don't take into account the lack of familiarity of a new ASM programmer (wanna-be). I can code like a beaver if I am familiar with the syntax, and the ide. :)

Any information would be appreciated!

Thank you,
Scott_G
Posted on 2001-10-08 22:04:13 by n0nuf
Looks like somebody needs Petzold and the Intel Docs here!
:)