I'm planning to protect some software using a knapsack protection scheme. The problem is that I'm not an expert in electronics. The circuit is very simple: just a memory where I store a key to decrypt. Anyone knows an url where I can found the scheme of this type of circuits. I only have found comercial solutions using google and I have not found the schemes to build by myself. Any help pleeeeease :grin:
Posted on 2003-07-03 07:23:12 by Regeax
What is your problem? Do you have a schematic that you do not know how to build, or do not understand? Are you looking for a schematic, or parts? You need to supply more definition. Ratch
Posted on 2003-07-03 10:36:36 by Ratch
Ratch, sorry my English is a little bad :( Yes, I'm looking for the schematic...
Posted on 2003-07-03 11:56:58 by Regeax
I guess I am a little confused. If your protection software is being run on a computer, that computer should have all the storage memory you need without adding another hardware memory, and trying to interface with it. You need to explain what is going on some more. Ratch
Posted on 2003-07-03 17:21:14 by Ratch
Man,
I think he wants to make a "dongle",
like HASP(c) devices that you connect on LPT or USB port and it enables a programm to run, without it the programm will not run... a method of software copy protection...
Posted on 2003-07-03 18:35:41 by BogdanOntanu
BogdanOntanu,

Perhaps you are right. A dongle is an advanced application project. I don't know too much about them except that there are companies that specialize in making them. That goes beyond the electronics theory aspect of this thread and is more like firmware applications. Ratch
Posted on 2003-07-03 18:58:53 by Ratch
I've never heard of such devices, but I don't think making them is that hard. Using the LPT is easy, and as I see, most of the people here can make PIC projects. I can be wrong, but I suppose the system is like this: