I'm new to DLL programming and checked out the FAQ about .dll programming, but can't find any help on this subject

FYI: I'm using RadASM with hutch's MASM32v8

I have my C++ program using an imported DLL from a C++ written dll. The prototype looks something like this

unsigned long __cdecl Detect_Bandwidth(unsigned long,unsigned long,int,int &,unsigned long &,unsigned long,struct tBandtestSettingsStruct *,char *)

If I try to make a function named Detect_Bandwith with 8 DWORDS as params, the program fails to load, telling me

The procedure entry point ?Detect_Bandwidth@@YAKKKHAAHAAKKPAUtBandtestSettingsStruct@@PAD@Z could not be located (...)

So I tried to name the proc as ?Detect_Bandwidth@@YAKKKHAAHAAKKPAUtBandtestSettingsStruct@@PAD@Z and puting that name in the .def file.
But then, the linker fails, telling me

BandTest.exp : error LNK2001: unresolved external symbol "unsigned long __cdecl Detect_Bandwidth(unsigned long,unsigned long,int,int &,unsigned long &,unsigned long,struct tBandtestSettingsStruct *,char *, ?? ) throw( ?? )" (?Detect_Bandwidth@@YAKKKHAAHAAKKPAUtBandtestSettingsStruct@@PAD)
BandTest.dll : fatal error LNK1120: 1 unresolved externals

The DLL itself is fine, and I know that for a fact (renaming the function and calling it from another Win32Asm program works).. The rule is that I want the original C++ clients to remain unchanged but to re-create the DLL in asm.

These are the settings of the asm
.model flat,stdcall
option casemap:none
Posted on 2003-07-05 16:47:34 by FearHQ
When you use a DLL created in C you must decorate the name to use it in ASM

Detect_Bandwidth

becomes:

_Detect_Bandwidth@24

Where @24 is the number of BYTES it pushes onto the stack

In your code you would use
Detect_Bandwidth equ _Detect_Bandwidth@24

Detect_Bandwidth PROTO :DWORD, :DWORD, :DWORD, :DWORD, :DWORD, :DWORD, :DWORD, :DWORD
Posted on 2003-07-05 17:07:03 by donkey