I am relatively new to assembly language programming, but the language is taking to me quite well :) I've read, followed and understood almost all of Iczelion's excellent tutorials, but I've always wondered... Most projects take up a meg in memory, even if they are template-type blank windows, and I'm wondering why is this? Is there a way to have some controll on the mem usage of the app? I know it's a little extreme, but at times it comes in handy ;) I've tried to mess with the stack size using the /F switch in ML.EXE, to no avail..

I'm using MASM32v8 package. Is anything possible? Mabe an API call to 'squish' unused memory?
Posted on 2003-07-09 02:42:43 by FearHQ
Hi FearHQ,

I'm also quite interested in memory usage.
I think that this rules should be applied if you need your app to be really tiny:

- use the ws:aggresive linker option See http://msdn.microsoft.com/library/default.asp?url=/library/en-us/vcce/htm/complref_142.asp

- allocate memory from the Heap only

- do as much as you can you own functions instead of the API.
Use standard window controls instead of registering you own window class.

- Load every dll with LoadLibrary and (try to) free it after use.
kernel32, user32.dll,advapi32.dll cannot be freed but the others...

Well, optimize for size, not speed.
I guess it is not a good idea to use ocx controls or dlls(to display
an animated gif for ex.). I saw examples over there where people load mshtml.dll and all the ie stuff to display an animated gif. Of course, it is easiest way but very bad on memory. I remember xnview uses a freeware library to display animated gifs.

The last thing, there is a technique called "delay loading" which permits to load dlls only at the moment you call the function which they contain. An asm example can be found here
http://www.anticracking.sk/EliCZ/export.htm

I let the Experts correct me :-)
Posted on 2003-07-09 16:04:00 by Prahogi
First of all what program do you use to tell you how much memory each process takes up?