I'm a newbie and my login shows that. Anyway I'd like to know how masm32 will face the new MS NET platform ? Does anyone think that it will be still alive in a couple of year ? Thanx
Posted on 2003-07-16 14:01:36 by newbie
Well, from alot of the comments I have seen about .NET at the MS developpers site I'm not sure if it will still be around in a few years in it's present form. A 10K app that requires a 25 MB framework is laughable, and sad for those on dialup. ASM will always be around however, there is always a place for compact fast code and no matter what you do everything eventually reduces to machine code and asm.
Posted on 2003-07-16 14:35:42 by donkey
That 25MB will be a part of the standard windows install in a couple years.
Posted on 2003-07-16 15:11:10 by bitRAKE

A 10K app that requires a 25 MB framework is laughable

:eek: OMG! Is it worse than Java?!?

I wish nothing but goodbye.NET, isn't it enought with Java? (well, I understand that M$ must have someway of getting the Sun off the back, I hope they'll not be able to kick away Java and replace it with .NET)
I will never use .NET if I have the choise to use others, I'd even use VB apps instead!
Posted on 2003-07-16 15:40:46 by scientica

That 25MB will be a part of the standard windows install in a couple years.