Thanx to all the people who answered my question. Probably I couldn't explain what I really thought. However I'm an Open Source fan and my doubts were only about the growing power of .net. I remember the end of the 16 bits applications and looking at .net, a sort of Java clone but wider, I think that in the near future the present 32 bits apps will become old stuff. Therefore, even if I always hope to build program in assembler (that's very difficult), I think : is it worth ? (I hope my bad English is clear). What Hutch says is the answer I wished, but It seems to me that you too have doubts about that (how long ?). Will you be able to make masm32 survive to .net (or in .net) ? Thanx
Posted on 2003-07-17 14:11:48 by newbie
I'm no expert, but believe I can pass along some relevant information.

.NET is a development framework used by many high level languages in Microsoft's recent IDEs. If you were to ask if learning Microsoft's older MFC (Microsoft Foundation Classes) for C++ programming was worth it, a more solid answer could be given: "forget it, learn .NET".

Masm and assembly language programming in general is a specialized art. There are a number of reasons why someone would want to learn how to program in Masm, and a number of reasons why not to. I don't know by how much, but newer 64-bit processors will extend the instruction set and 64-bit Windows OSes will possibly radically (?) change the Win32 API calls. The basic PE file probably won't be changed in Longhorn.

Unlike most higher level languages, assembly is not cross platform, so while targeting Linux systems won't require much transition, creating Mac OS X programs is out of the question. :grin: You may be familiar with the Mono project which aims to recreate the .NET framework for Linux.