hey,
ive been searching around and i havent found anything on programming video games in asm,
i was wondering if you guys could give me some links or informations on the subject,
i do have directx 8.0 sdk (parents bout me a game development starter kit for meh bday) but i dont like ms vc++ or vb so can u give me info because im very new to this subject.

thanks,
njkt
Posted on 2003-07-30 00:15:25 by njkt809
Searching arround? where?
i have seen some threads below this one regarding this subject and ... revealing some gamedev steep by steep tutorials in asm written by Chris Hobbs
Posted on 2003-07-30 04:19:22 by BogdanOntanu
really?
i had not seen those,
ive searched google with nothing to turn up but vb and c++

i'll search here again though,

thanks,
njkt
Posted on 2003-07-30 09:57:34 by njkt809
Besides, if google has sent you here it did good :P

Since from now on all your ASM questions you might have will be answered here ;)

:tongue:
Posted on 2003-07-30 10:09:53 by BogdanOntanu
ug google didnt send me anywhere,
i foudn this through viewing some source code that had icz's wepage and i checked it out, n here i am.

anyways i found the tutroials on gamedev.net

thanks,
njkt
Posted on 2003-07-30 10:18:08 by njkt809
hey,
well i was reading that tutorial and for now it isnt what i want,
i have a sample prog i made in dos that i want to convert to win32
i think i know how, but i just need some info on using pictures and buttons.

thanks,
njkt
Posted on 2003-07-30 10:31:32 by njkt809
So, you want to code a GUI for your game...
Check out the ProStart application in MASM which can generate you a working win32 skeleton with some basic controls, then look at the masm32 library functions such as BmpButton to get something up and running.