I had some dead hours this morning so I whipped up this, it's a program that allows you to lookup system errors and see their description (FormatMessage API). You can enter both the equate name and the number itself, in decimal or hexadecimal (preceded by "0x"). There's an EXE version (for any IDE) and a RadASM specific DLL version.
If you found it useful please let me know, it's my first attempt at a RadASM addin. :)
Posted on 2003-08-20 16:58:26 by QvasiModo
QvasiModo,

I like your idea and I would be very happy to have such an Add-In for WinAsm. If you are kind enough to implement it (I mean a true Add-In, not a dll that will call your EXE) I would highly appreciate it.

Regards,

akyprian
Posted on 2003-08-21 05:38:54 by akyprian
Hi QvasiModo

Nice addin. Should be very useful.
One thing. OS'es with other nationalities has different text formatting. Maybe make the edit box a little wider.

KetilO
Posted on 2003-08-21 06:09:34 by KetilO
Before You create font for the error message field, You should do something like this:

.data?
tm TEXTMETRIC <>
hDC dd ?
hWnd dd ?

.code
invoke GetDesktopWindow
mov hWnd,eax
invoke GetDC,eax
mov hDC,eax
invoke GetTextMetrics,eax,offset tm
invoke ReleaseDC,hWnd,hDC

and then copy tm.tmCharSet to the appropriate field in your LOGFONT structure. This will hopefully fix the problem with national characters in error messages. Well, at least it helped me when I manually edited WinErr.exe entering 0xEE as the charset (I'm using Polish Win98 now, so EASTEUROPE_CHARSET is my local preference :) )
Posted on 2003-08-21 15:18:53 by Morris
Glad you guys liked it :)

akyprian: It is a real add-in... I made the EXE version first, then the DLL once I found out how to make an addin. I kept the EXE in case you wanted to use it in a different IDE, but it is not necessary for Radasm. Just install the DLL as a regular addin (option 0 for disabled, 1 for enabled).