Hello, all!

I'm not good with objects and with english :)

But here is one more crazyness I found about objects.

For some time I was using (well, trying to implement) my own object model.
(there alot "to do" in it, of coz)

Just one thing I've noticed:
When we use VTable, it usually contains some data (for example pointers to some metods, variables, etc)
Each data field is usually DWORD (we are on WIntel platform)

Now the main idea:
If field contains a pointer (to some address), then address is always < 8000 0000h for user mode.
So we surelly know, that the 31st bit must be alwais zero.
Let's say, we need not to save this bit in to memory ;) But anyway we will use DWORD.
So I use this bit for other purposes (in my case this flag shows has my object custom destructor or uses standart one)
It allow me to have smalest object size = DWORD (if it uses only one metod)
And one more, this object can be "suspended" (objects I'm using are automatically executed during main loop)
For this purpose I use the 30th bit as a flag.

Of cource, this "economy" will not give us much space saving if we're using objects that are ~100DWORD size, but if we have 1000000 small objects...

Since I've never seen this technic before, what do you think about it?

P.S. may be :stupid: ?
Posted on 2003-08-24 22:15:12 by S.T.A.S.
For many small objects nothing beat an array. ;)
Posted on 2003-08-24 22:34:07 by bitRAKE

For many small objects nothing beat an array. ;)

Yes, I have "array" of very small "objects" ;)

throw in another DWORD for 32 flags.

Be sure, I'll do so one day...
I mean flags not for "objects" but for "objects manager".
Really I use "big" and "smal" objects at the one time. I just want an universal format, that will work good with both of them (well, "in most cases")