Hi everyone, I'm just starting out on the long road of learning asm :( and i have question, basically i was wondering do you all code pure asm here or just use asm to optimise c/delphi code. Thanks!
Posted on 2003-09-19 15:46:18 by kaeru
Hi kaeru!

...and welcome :)

About your question... it depends... here you'll find a lot of different people.

From someone coding pure assembler to someone interacting between Visual Basic and ASM (just have a look to the COM forum).

Personally I use assembler to create small tools or Windows services, without interaction with other languages.

But this is just me...
Posted on 2003-09-19 16:11:36 by Cip
Many people here code complete, standalone programs in asm. There are also several commercial programs, completely written in asm.
The road of learning asm is , IMO, shorter and more understandable than C++ . It was after I learnt asm (in a relatively good degree) that I could comprehend the true nature of C++. Anyway, I was first an electronics engineer, so different rules maybe apply to me :)
But once you've gotten into asm, and you've got some good template proggies/libs to make development easier, I doubt you'll ever think to switch to another language.
Posted on 2003-09-19 19:55:58 by Ultrano
Welcome kaeru,
Yes. I think the forum is pure-asm oriented.
And im my hobby-time i'm pure asm coder, like the most of all i think.

What is good of pure asm is that all other things you do inside is your pure asm code, not a compiler code.
B7
Posted on 2003-09-20 06:45:52 by Bit7
pure assembly = for fun.

Otherwise, I use it "where needed" - to do special stuff, or to gain some additional speed when the compiler doesn't do a good enough job. I regard coding full-asm applications as a waste of time, but that's just a personal preference. Do what you think is best/fun (and do learn a HLL if you want to get a programming job.)
Posted on 2003-09-21 05:52:34 by f0dder