well i am new to asm and i dunno many.

this simple formula eatin my brain. this c code, please help convet to masm style asm. Please.

result = ((sr * a) + (dr * (255 - a))) / 255

it is for alpha bland of func asm.

thank everybody in advancement.
Posted on 2003-11-22 02:57:33 by salad.dressing
salad.dressing,

The forumula would eat my brain too :grin: . It's not that hard you have parentheses to help you. Just work from the inside out and remember the operator precedence rules. But here's my attempt :)

mov eax, 255
sub eax, a
imul dr
mov ecx, eax
mov eax, sr
imul a
add eax, ecx
mov ecx, 255
cdq
idiv ecx
Posted on 2003-11-22 05:40:12 by Odyssey
mov	edx, 255

mov eax, a
sub edx, eax
imul eax, sr
imul edx, dr
mov ecx, 255
add eax, edx
cdq
idiv ecx
Here is another version.

Most likely you'll want a much faster version.
Posted on 2003-11-22 06:44:08 by bitRAKE
You probably should use MMX, its much easier to code and faster as well.
Posted on 2003-11-22 07:17:24 by x86asm
where i find mmx tuts. i am newbie. this formul above use floting numbers, but u performer int math. how in floting numbers to do.

thank you everyone for your solutions.

bitRAKE you have some your own tuts. pls can u help by writing examples of convert simple expresions to asm. may be that could help me.

salad.dressing
Posted on 2003-11-22 08:17:00 by salad.dressing
Hi :)
Another version using FP opcodes:

mov eax,255
push eax
fild dword ptr [esp]
fsub a
fmul dw
fld sr
fmul a
faddp st(1),st(0)
fidiv dword ptr [esp]
fstp result
pop eax

Yet another version, this time with integer params and result:

;result = ((sr * a) + (dr * (255 - a))) / 255
mov eax,255
push eax
fild dword ptr [esp]
fild a
fsubp st(1),st(0)
fild dw
fmulp st(1),st(0)
fild sr
fild a
fmulp st(1),st(0)
faddp st(1),st(0)
fidiv dword ptr [esp]
fistp result
pop eax

I'm new at FP programming so any suggestions/corrections are welcome.
Posted on 2003-11-22 08:27:39 by QvasiModo

where i find mmx tuts