I have a few questions about a physical layer of networking.
I little thought about IP and MAC. Why they are grouped in a pairs. Why MAC in not sufficient. Why IP is necessary to put the information through the Internet to a destination host?
Why there is not only one Ethernet protocol and many and many IP protocols.
I am not a programmer, just an electronic amateur and do all that things for fun.
I have some of my own protocols to link(not only one pair of PCs) through COM ports but in this case there is no place to talk about it.
So what??

Let imagine that there is two subnets and each of them have a firewall which is done by a separate host. To make it easy imagine that the both of the subnets together have four hosts.
There is Ethernet link between host and firewall and ATM link between firewalls.
Do you imagine it?
Right
OK.

The firewalls translate addresses from the local IP into a global IP and also MAC address are swapping into ATM .On the other side of ATM connection NAT (which is placed in firewall host) translate the public IP into local and also swap the ATM into MAC.

Did you careful?

No I think ;)

This is impossible to establish a connection if the both of talkers are behind the firewalls, so let?s get the image more realistic.
Let, in the firewall?s server be some open ports which are connected with some services in internal local host, then the connection from external source will be possible.

Could you keep up with me? ;)
Yes ,of course.

So what is going on and how the connection is realizing?

Shortcut:
Step 1 in listening subnet (this one where in firewall is listening socket: socket means IP+TCP or IP+UDP in shorter version IP + port)

Step 2 on the other side local host wants to connect with external IP
Step 3 NAT(firewall too ?there are both of them in one host) receive the order and store the MAC of the internal host and also his local IP
Step 4 the NAT swap the local IP into your own (global)