I so totally don't get this line from tutorial#3 of iczelions tutorials

.BREAK .IF (!eax)

as far as i can tell ! is the logical NOT operator. I can't understand why you would want to break if eax was its own complimentry number. Can someone help please. I'm a Newbie.. :cool:

I know the .break means to break from the sequence and .if is under the condition that it is true. so wouldn't you have to find out if eax was zero or not.
Posted on 2003-11-26 23:45:36 by Phase Verocity
okay well maybe it just means is NOT 0, but he didn't say that in his tutorial so i am still wondering if that is right
Posted on 2003-11-26 23:48:27 by Phase Verocity
It will exit the loop if eax = 0 (!eax)

.IF eax -> eax <> 0

.IF !eax -> eax = 0

(!eax) is the same as !eax
Posted on 2003-11-26 23:49:03 by donkey
cheers.. looks like I had it the wrong way round.. glad I asked
Posted on 2003-11-27 02:28:09 by Phase Verocity
Why is it .BREAK .IF (!eax)
and not .IF (!eax) .BREAK ????
Posted on 2003-11-27 05:23:47 by AceEmbler
Both are acceptable, but the first one doesnt need a matching .endif, and only requires one line of code to check a single condition, whereas the second version requires a .endif but therefore can enclose any number of checks inside it.
See the MASM helpfile for more information.
Posted on 2003-11-27 07:19:35 by Homer

.loop:
lea eax, [.msg]
invoke GetMessage, eax, NULL, 0, 0
cmp eax, 0
jb .erro
je .fin
lea eax, [.msg]
invoke TranslateMessage, eax
lea eax, [.msg]
invoke DispatchMessage, eax
jmp .loop
.erro:
invoke MessageBoxA, 0, Error, Saliendo, MB_OK
.fin:
mov eax, dword[.msg+MSG.wParam]

I do in that way.....

In a strict way.. .BREAK .IF (!eax) is wrong, because Get message return -1 in case that there exist a error, but normally GetMessage not return that -1 ;).

the correct will be if eax is major to zero.

If there is an error, the return value is -1. For example, the function fails if hWnd is an invalid window handle.

Nice day or night.