Well,

I've had a really tough day today. Sigh! But I've learnt something really cool too. It's COM. I read many of the posts here and they were easy to grasp but they were still missing the rich meat a beginner to COM needs (perhaps we need a small and rich article from NaN and Japheth). Well, here's a learning curve I am currently going through:

1. Read up some info in MSDN about "What is COM?"
2. Read up some info here in old postings.
3. There are excellent articles on COM for beginners at codeproject.com. Lemme find em, oh there i got some beginner stuff. here are the links:

intro part 1: http://www.codeproject.com/com/comintro.asp
intro part 2: http://www.codeproject.com/com/comintro2.asp

Well, I'm just a beginner to COM, so I certainly need lots and lots of help. Gr8 we've guys like japheth and NaN to help us out. (hope y're listenin fellas.)

Thanks,
Art
Posted on 2003-11-27 07:07:12 by art_sands
I have book (paper) " Inside COM" (Dale Rogerson) - very good.
Posted on 2003-11-27 12:39:53 by robin11
is it available online for free (you say it is a paper) i tried searching they all say i need to buy. i can't do that. I'd rather choose msdn online.
Posted on 2003-11-27 13:54:53 by art_sands
I agree a good beginners guide to COM that is complete at every "step" is definitely required. I have a COM text as well, but I dont use it as much as you would think. At the assembly level your more involved that these books let you know about (its amazing how much detial gets left out when they assume your using C++ or VB!!). The MSDN is ok, it definetly is better than these books, but its hard to get a good 1-2-3 progression of information here. YOu often forget details while you look for the next missing piece to the COM puzzle :rolleyes: