Hi,

I have downloaed the masm assembler and just now downloaded the WinAsm IDE. Can someone help me to get started to learn assembly? Is there anywhere i can get sample code which i can run in winasm, so far i tried writing a program and when i tried assemble it i get errors. I am new to assembly programming can someone direct me to the right direction. thanks
Posted on 2003-12-20 06:55:54 by Programmer_to_be
Hi,

There is a lot of sample code around and you will have all the help you need.

1.Iczelion tutorials.
2.Too much source code in this forum.
3.Samples in the WinAsm zip.

Can you post the error message you get (although I have a suspicion what you are not doing properly)

Regards,

akyprian
Posted on 2003-12-20 07:15:13 by akyprian
Hello akyprian:)

I am really greatful for your reply, i have posted on numerous message boards but i think people dont have time to help. I have programmed a very little in C, java, basic before, so i am totally new to assembly, i have been taught by a friend about assembly however i dont feel like bothering him anymore.

My program i am writing is this (it is taken from some lecture notes someone gave me, so i thought i'd try it out),

TITLE anything (anything.asm);

.model flat, stdcall

.code
main PROC
mov eax, 10000h
add eax, 40000h
sub eax, 20000h
call DumRegs

INVOKE ExitProcess, 0

main ENDP
END main

And also can i ask what type of programs are made in assembly? Is it possible to make GUI programs and console based programs? for example in basic you can print something to a window, can you do that in assembly?

Thank you for your time
Posted on 2003-12-20 15:33:50 by Programmer_to_be
Hi, Sorry i forgot to add that when i open the sample code provided with Win Asm and when i try to run it, i get an error message saying - "Execution failed". Do you know why it fails to execute?

Posted on 2003-12-20 15:52:44 by Programmer_to_be
Hi, Programmer_to_be. Nice nick ;)