Okay,

There was a question posted in another forum on this board about a RamDisk for Windows. Someone replied back with a link to product that is no longer supported by the vendor.

I've been wanting for a while now to reserve some of my RAM (Since I have about ~500 -- ~1GB) for a file system to house some of my programs to speed things up.

Since I can't find many of them, I'd rather learn how to do this and make my own (even if I never do, I want to at least try... then if I learn nothing, I can perhaps learn that it's out of my reach as an individual)...

I won't ask anyone here how, but I would like to ask, if anyone has resources or ideas how one would go about doing something like this.

I've never written a device driver, or a hard disk driver, or even mapped a drive letter to some resource somewhere except another hard drive or server somewhere so I'm very new to this.

Thanks,
_Shawn
Posted on 2001-10-29 15:38:49 by _Shawn
This would be similar to making a virtual CD-ROM. I suggest you carefully web-search and maybe even e-mail authors of such programs as Virtual CD-ROM and Daemon's Tools.
Posted on 2001-10-29 19:02:13 by comrade
shawn,

i read the other msg, and the 'grownable' ram disk, and had a idea that maybe can inspire you for something...

i dunno, but, if was for w9x, i would try making a VXD hooking IFS, hooking creation/open of files in my drive X:. NT surely have something hookeable similar to IFS in w9x

the vxd return, for file open/created there, a handle with the bit 31 set. the hook in IFS detect read/write/seek to these handles, and modify the block of memory(writes), alloc(when expanding/creating a file) and so on... a structure(maybe indexed by the handle AND 0X7FFFFFFF), created when file is created in virtual disk, control current file size, pointer and so on...