Hi guys,

I'm still learning about debugging techniques and I was wondering if anyone could give me a few tips.
I want to put a watch on a memory address in another process and I'm not sure of the best way to do it.

eg. I have a DWORD at 403066 which is a loop counter. It increments relatively slowly (every 200mS) and I
would simply like to send the value to another window. I have no problem sending data from one process to
another, and I can inplement a watch if I hardcode it in the source, but that doesn't teach me much. I have no
problem using SEH to do this too, but again, this requires it to be hardcoded in the exe (like VarSpy).

I'm using my own source so I have no problem hardcoding a proc to send to the output window whilst debugging,
Its just I dont know how I can set an address to watch on-the-fly (assume I already know the address).
Can this be done using the debug API or do I need to use a totally different technique ?

Thanks,
Emerson
Posted on 2004-01-04 09:27:37 by Emerson
Humm, I don't see any specific functions for memory watching in the debug api... perhaps I didn't look close enough - you might want to ask the author of OllyDbg how he does it.

One solution, I guess, would be using SetThreadContext to manually set the DRx registers of the thread to enable a memory breakpoint (consult the IA32 manuals, volume 3: Systems Programming, iirc) - I'm not sure how clean this is, though, nor how well it would work on 9x. It should work, I guess, on NT, as NT manages the DRx registers per-thread.
Posted on 2004-01-04 10:31:08 by f0dder
Thanks f0dder,

It was Ollydbg's abililty to set a memory bp on-the-fly that I was hoping to copy. I've done quite an extensive search
but I didnt find too much of use, but then I'm not sure what Im looking for exactly. I looked at the IA32 manuals and
I think Im right in thinking only 3(?) bp's can be set at any one time. I guess this is Olly's hardware bp method.