I often hear talking of thunks .... expecially releated to pe files. What are thunks???

yaa
Posted on 2004-01-09 18:34:04 by yaa
hmm before I started studying PE files I had never heard of this word before.
a thunk isn't an address it is something that can be used to calculate an address such as a pointer to the IMAGE_IMPORT_BY_NAME. Literally any value that is intended to be used to calculate an address can be considered a thunk.
Posted on 2004-01-09 18:42:12 by ENF
I knew the word thunk related to the operation of converting between a segmented memory address space and a flat address space ... but when talking about pe files I don't see how this could get in ...

yaa
Posted on 2004-01-09 19:10:37 by yaa

I often hear talking of thunks .... expecially releated to pe files. What are thunks???

yaa

Technically, a "thunk" is a piece of code to execute and its execution environment, all encasulated into one object. The term existed *long* before Microsoft and PE files. Thunks were used, for example, to pass objects by name in Algol-68 and other languages (HLA, for example, supports these types of thunks).

From the Microsoft point of view, the "execution environment" includes 16-bit vs. 32-bit segmentation models.

Think of a thunk as a pointer to a procedure along with some extra information to set up memory management when that procedure gets called. (e.g., in HLA, thunks contain a pointer to some code to execute and a pointer to an activation record containing that procedure's variables).

You can read more about HLA's thunks (which use the generic definition) here:
http://webster.cs.ucr.edu/Page_AoAWin/PDFs/Thunks.pdf

Check out MSDN for those things that Microsoft calls thunks.
Cheers,
Randy Hyde
Posted on 2004-01-09 21:07:02 by rhyde
It is also the sound my head makes when you pop it with your thumb and mid-finger.
Posted on 2004-01-10 01:52:27 by drarem
Randall Hyde,

he wanted to know what are Thunk in the PE Header: OriginalFirstThunk / FirstThunk ;)