Some of you old timers should get a kick out of this.

A little history. I started a new job 1 year ago. Same stuff I've been doing, about half mainframe, half PC. One of the things I had to do was learn RPG. I've been hanging around IBM boxes for 35 years, and RPG has always been there. No problem, it's a pretty easy language. I just never got around to using it, never needed to. I did some Fortran for a while, a couple years of heavy Cobol, then got hooked on assembly language, and never left. :)

Back in 1976 I started to program for IBM 3270 terminals. They're the big old "green screen" terminals you see in places like banks, airlines, insurance companies, the IRS... After my first couple of programs it became clear that this was a perfect application to "macroize". After all, terminal programs are all pretty much the same, you read a record and display the fields on the screen. Then maybe read back stuff the terminal operator keyed, and update or add a record. Throw in a few functions like next/previous record, delete a record, and you've got about 90% of all "terminal programs" covered.

The operating system has "extensions" to make some things easier. They provide the actual terminal IO routines, quick database access, scheduling of other transactions, etc. But you've still got to write a pretty detailed program. You've got to read the record, map the fields, send it, wait for a reply, do some editing, figure out what function to do next, etc. There must be a better way...

I wrote a macro to describe each field on the screen. It contained the "name" of the field to display, a pointer to the data (in a record), alpha or numeric, required or optional field, and an override screen location. If the field was binary or packed, it was converted back and forth to display. It also had an optional "exit" that could be used to further validate the field (like only Y or N for example), or do other calculations on the field.