Guys,
How do I get the mouse position over the Desktop when the mouse is moving out of the program window?
Thanks in advance,
Rudy.
Posted on 2004-01-30 20:13:01 by Rudy Penteado
Im no expert but.. Have you tried invoking GetCursorPos inside of a timer?
Posted on 2004-01-30 20:20:36 by DevSpartacus
Hi Rudy,

Haven't really thougth about it but you might use the _TrackMouseEvent function and wait for a WM_MOUSELEAVE message then use the GetCursorPos function to obtain the current position of the cursor...

tme TRACKMOUSEEVENT <>

mov D[tme.cbSize],SIZEOF TRACKMOUSEEVENT
mov D[tme.dwFlags],TME_LEAVE
mov eax,[hWin]
mov [tme.hwndTrack],eax
mov D[tme.dwHoverTime],HOVER_DEFAULT
invoke _TrackMouseEvent,ADDR tme

pt POINT <>

; on receving a WM_MOUSELEAVE
invoke GetCursorPos,ADDR pt
Posted on 2004-01-30 20:31:12 by donkey
DevSpartacus,

Thanks for the answer but AFAIK, GetCursorPos does not report the movements of the mouse over another application or the Desktop. It reports the position of the mouse ONLY when the mouse is over your program window. There are 3 exceptions to this rule:
1) When you capture the mouse with any button down and drag it around.
2) When the focus is passed to your program the API will report the place where the cursor was WHEN the change of focus occurred.
3) When your program looses the focus, the API reports the place where the mouse was when the focus was removed.
In some circumstances you can do some tricks with this.
What I need is to be able to know where the cursor is, all the time, without disturbing the other applications.

Best,
Rudy.

Donkey,

I will investigate that and let youknow soon.
Thanks also.
Posted on 2004-01-30 20:51:38 by Rudy Penteado
Yea, I wasnt to sure on it I know I have used it when making games though so :/ didnt test it >.<
Posted on 2004-01-30 20:57:18 by DevSpartacus
Hi Rudy,