hey people i need some help with a winsock thing

the problem is i have multiple connections (i think it's called multi-threading) like a webserver has
but only one global data buffer thing
when data comes in on seperate connections, it all goes into the one buffer, should it be like that ?
i want to be able to receive a certain amout of data in each seperate buffer (one seperate buffer for every connection),
and then later process the data whole (eg recv a whole file, then work out what to do with it)
how would i do that ?

also another thing i was wondering, if i don't get all the data in one recv (ie 1024 bytes being sent, but only say 512 bytes are received into buffer) does that ever happen ? and if so what should i do ?

i'm new to asm, so these are probably really stupid questions but any help would be much appreciated
thanks
Posted on 2004-02-05 06:21:31 by someone
Heysaho.

If you're using CreateThread, you're doing multithreading - otherwise you're not :). However, if you're following Iczelion's tutorials with async sockets (those posting windows messages), you'll probably have to handle multiple concurrent connections anyway.

You'll need to have a buffer per connection. You will probably need some state information per connection anyway, so figure out a way to associate your sockets with some information (some array will probably do). You can either recv directly into the per-connection buffer, or you can use a smal local variable and copy to the buffer later - your choice. Anyway be sure to be paranoid about length checking so you don't get buffer overflows...

Yes, you will have to gracefully handle not getting all the bytes you ask for on a recv, or sending on a send. This is the rule rather than the exception. Have a look at www.madwizard.org , Thomas made some nice texts about socket programming.
Posted on 2004-02-05 06:52:58 by f0dder
hey
i'm not using create thread, it's the posting messages way.