Hi all,

Please forgive me about the question am about to ask regarding networking since I am a newbie to it. Anyway my question would be can I use a socket and make use of blocking functions and later I make use of non-blocking functions? Also if Thomas do read this post, I do hope that he continues working on his tutorial. I can't wait for his next tutorial :grin:

Regards,

Victor
Posted on 2004-02-18 06:44:04 by roticv
As far as I know, you can use the setsockopt() (is that what it's called?), to change from blocking to non-blocking and back... I've never tried it myself, but I suppose it's worth a shot to see if it actually works, it probably will.
Posted on 2004-02-18 07:17:57 by Henk-Jan
AFAIK there's no reason why you can't use any socket in blocking mode at any time - asynch (non-blocking) sockets is just a messaging mechanism which allows functions to return immediately with an indefinite response and flag a full response later, rather like overlapped file i/o.. the exact nature of the messaging mechanism being determined by our implementation of nonblocking sockets, ie our choice of api functions.. for example, WSAAsynchSelect makes winsock send socket messages as WM's to a window of our choice, whereas WSAWaitForMultipleObjects and similar operate on socket arrays and use event objects for messaging.
Posted on 2004-02-18 07:18:08 by Homer
Homer,

The first part of my code makes use of blocking mode to login to the server. Thereafter the login is completed, I wish to make use of non-blocking mode so as to handle messages from the server easily(still using the same socket)... So is it a feasible idea? Or do I have to recode so that my login part would make use of non-blocking mode?
Posted on 2004-02-18 07:54:44 by roticv
As descibed in WinSock API:
function ioctlsocket is used to change the socket from blocking(default) to non-blocking state
1 param = socket handle
2 param = FIONBIO command (it's just a constant)