I'm fairly new to PIC programming, but was wondering what approach people use when storing text strings in PICs to take up the least amount of program area, but be easily accessible. The strings are mainly to be used in menus and messages to be displayed via a serial interface.

Any pointer will be greatfully received.

Thanks

Nick
Posted on 2004-04-01 09:20:29 by Nick
Just use a retlw (return from call, literal in W). Place the character byte in the working (W) register. Efficient, uses 1 program instruction per byte.

If you use something like EEPROM (on pic or off), then a zero terminated string works nice. So would something akin to a BSTR or Pascal string (length prefixed string).

movlw (move literal to W) would also work if you inline the string with code and want the data for immediate processing.
Posted on 2004-04-01 14:19:21 by Ernie
Thanks, those are the methods I'd seen used in sample code, I was just curious if there were any other methods people used.

Nick
Posted on 2004-04-02 03:19:28 by Nick
With only 33 opcodes to choose from, you don't get many options. ;-)

My personal favorite weird string code example was in some sample code for USB stuff on a PIC. Strings returned during ewnumeration are speced to be in unicode, and sure enough, they were stored inside the PIC as long strings of pairs of retlw's.... every other one a zero byte!
Posted on 2004-04-02 21:38:07 by Ernie
The easiest way to store strings in the program memory is to use the Define Table directive.
It will generate the retlw instructions for you. If you include anything in quotation marks, it will place retlw instructions that return the ASCII characters you need. Without quotation marks, it places retlw value.

<label> dt "My message",0

This will assemblelike this:

retlw 'M'
retlw 'y'
retlw 'm'
retlw 0

This is exactly what you need and it's much easier to use. It takes less typing, too.
Posted on 2004-04-05 12:06:09 by VVV