Hi,
Im new to winsock and am trying to make a simple server and client (blocking sockets). However, I am slightly confused.
My client sends some data to a server, and then the client invokes recv ready to get a response
--> the connection *seems* to have not been closed, although all data is sent
--> the server does not move on from recv
--> the server does not send its response.
If I close the client socket after send, signifying that the client has sent its data and that the connection is closed, and then re-open a socket everything is fine. This seems very inefficient, what am I doing wrong?
Hope that makes sense!
Thanks,
-Adam
Posted on 2004-04-01 14:25:09 by adamjjackson
Hi adamjjackson,

I've done something similar over the past days (client, server, both with blocking sockets) and ran into the same problem. Apparently, if both sides of the connection use blocking sockets, the client must actively indicate when it is done with sending.

It is not necessary to actually close the socket after sending. Instead, it is sufficient if the client disables further sending by calling "invoke shutdown, , 1". Thereby the (blocking) server gets the information that no more data will come in, and will switch to sending the response.

After receiving the response, the client should in fact close the socket because it cannot be re-used for further sending (according to my helpfile).

I hope that made sense.

Frank
Posted on 2004-04-01 17:17:49 by Frank
Okay, that makes sense - thank you. So what is the best option then? To make the server with non-blocking sockets (haven't used them yet!), or the client, or both?! I was using non-blocking sockets and in a worker thread for simplicity. I assume that re-creating the socket each time is not the best approach...
Thanks,
-Adam
Posted on 2004-04-02 03:19:06 by adamjjackson