Hello.

I am a C++ programmer with limited experience (design) using C#. From my experience, C#, like Java, is a derivative of C++. However, Microsoft is able to blend C# and C++, getting the best out of the Java design.

With the recent settlement between MS and SUN, I think that MS will remain the top desktop software company. Bottomline: C# should surpass Java given that it is in fact platform-independent.

I have some basic questions on the C# language.

Currently, does a C# application run on a non-Win32/Win64 platform (UNIX, Mac, wireless)?

How does C# compare to C++ in terms of object-oriental design (inheritance, template, etc) on a large-scale project?

How does C# compare to C++ for client/server applications including various IPC concepts, multithreading, multiple processes, etc?

How does C# compare to C++ for processor-intensive applications including games, 3D-render, multimedia, etc?

I read some reviews on two books on C# by Jeff Prosise and Charles Petzold. In general, readers find the books GUI-oriented. How good is C# for performance-imperative applications?

Thanks,

Kuphryn
Posted on 2004-04-05 16:43:54 by kuphryn
Hm, actually, I don't care about C, C++, C# or any "C" letter of the alphabet. ;)
Posted on 2004-04-05 16:50:34 by JohnFound
c# on other platforms: http://www.go-mono.org/

I know next to nothing about c# though, so I can't really answer any of the other questions. I guess that the JITer is good (comparing speed of MS JVM and Sun JVM), but that (on x86) there's still reason to use native code for speed-intensive tasks.

Friend of mine that has used it said the memory consumption was very high, and that some tasks took quite too long.

The language (and the .NET environment) is still pretty new, so I guess it should be given some time before too severe judgment is made against it. It's probably just fine for speed-insensitive tasks as it is now.

Btw: this post should really have been made in the heap.