Hi assembly gurus :)

I'm new to this board, this is my first post. I've lurking around here since February though, but now I finally had to ask a question. I'm just learning assembly, I'm still stuck in the basics but I feel I'm doing well, I'm very familiar with JavaScript and Perl. I've tried some C++ too. I understand pretty well how all basic functions work, like a window. That you need to register a window class, then create the window, and enter a loop that gets messages from the OS whenever something is done to the window. Assembly feels like a good language for me.

Anyway, I'm still a complete newbie and I would like to ask about debugging my code. I made a program that simply just opens a window, but the program didn't work. I didn't get any error message when assembling it, not even one of those cryptic error messages from Windows when running it. I compared my code to the code from a tutorial, and was lost... finally, I found what was wrong. I was missing a ret from the WndProc.

I would like to know, is there any program for helping me find such errors? I once saw a screenshot from some program where the assembly code was at left, and a status window to right. The status window showed whenever a register was updated and stuff, I think such a program would help me find my stupid errors. So what would you recommend?

Cheers!
Posted on 2004-05-13 11:36:09 by Justin Case
Get familiar with a debugger. Learn how to set break points and inspect the registers and memory when the code breaks at the breakpoint learn the single step so that that you can watch the registers and memory values change as you step into the code.

Debugging is an art, one that requires patience and experience.]

A debugger that I would recommend is ollydbg. Some prefer softice, but it is too expensive for me.
Posted on 2004-05-13 11:57:40 by roticv