Hello,

Currently, I have a Linksys DSL/Cable Router (BEFSR41). I've been using it for about four years now. Overall, it works good, but I think the bandwidth throughput is slow and the firmware is buggy. Connecting to FTP is tricky and there are problems with passive mode, etc.

http://www.linksys.com/products/product.asp?grid=34&scid=29&prid=561

About six months ago the power supply started making howling noise. So I think its days are just about over. Plus the firmware is buggy. I cannot connect to FTP servers when using certain firmware builds.

I'd like to get a new DSL/Cable Router with at least 4x100mb network switch support. What is the best DSL/Cable router right now?

Here are some models I am considering right now.

Netgear

Model RP614 4-Port Cable/DSL Router with 10/100 Mbps Switch
http://www.netgear.com/products/prod_details.php?prodID=131&view=

Model FR114P 4 Port Cable/DSL ProSafe Firewall/Print Server
http://www.netgear.com/products/prod_details.php?prodID=140&view=

Linksys

BEFSX41 Instant Broadband EtherFast?Cable/DSL Firewall Router with 4-Port Switch/VPN End
http://www.linksys.com/products/product.asp?grid=34&scid=29&prid=433

They're all about the same price. Really I want to stay away from Linksys, but 3COM backs them. I have not had a Netgear router. It is any good?

What is the best DSL/Cable router right now in terms of speed (bandwidth throughput) and security?

Thanks,

Kuphryn
Posted on 2004-05-18 15:06:52 by kuphryn
For what it's worth, I had a 8port netgear 100mbit switch which worked really well - seemed to be nice quality. There were a bunch of netgear switches at my old school, and afaik no problems with them. Dunno about their routers though - except that efficient networks speedstream 2601 *sucks*, and that cisco 655 (I think?) is a bit weird, but works.
Posted on 2004-05-18 15:18:47 by f0dder

efficient networks speedstream 2601 *sucks*

A friend of mine recenly bought one of those and has had no problems so far.