Hi , I am new in asm and I have a question about "loop".
I have made two examples, and in both versions the loop doesn't terminate!! Why ?

----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Example 1:#
----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

.model flat,stdcall
option casemap:none

include \masm32\include\windows.inc
include \masm32\include\kernel32.inc
includelib \masm32\lib\kernel32.lib
include \masm32\include\user32.inc
includelib \masm32\lib\user32.lib

.data
MsgBoxCaption db "FirstProg",0
MsgBoxText db "MessageBOX!",0

.code
start:

mov ecx, 10

countdown:
invoke MessageBox, NULL, addr MsgBoxText, addr MsgBoxCaption, MB_OK
loop countdown

invoke ExitProcess, NULL
end start

Example 2:#

.Model Flat ,StdCall
option casemap:none

include \masm32\include\windows.inc
include \masm32\include\kernel32.inc
includelib \masm32\lib\kernel32.lib
include \masm32\include\user32.inc
includelib \masm32\lib\user32.lib

mb_ok equ 0
hWnd equ 0
lpText equ offset text
lpCaption equ offset caption

.Data

text db "FirstProg",0
caption db "Hello",0

.Code

Main:
mov ecx, 3

loopcount:

push mb_ok
push lpCaption
push lpText
push hWnd
call MessageBoxA

loop loopcount

CALL ExitProcess

End Main

Please help me

:)
Posted on 2004-05-28 17:22:47 by FinalbrainXP
Hi.
In the first sample code the problem lays in the fact that your call the the MessageBox() modifies value stored in the ECX register thus it will never reach 0.

You need to preserve the value which can be done in a few ways, for example, you can add push ecx bedore the function call and pop ecx after.
Posted on 2004-05-28 17:36:48 by Milos
Thank you very much :)

That means that MessageBox modifies itself the value of ecx or the invoke funktion ?
Posted on 2004-05-28 18:33:44 by FinalbrainXP
It's the MessageBox that modifies ECX and other registers too.