Hi,

Recently i started to develop a small program wich needs to show and manipulate som images. Since i didnt want to spend time trying to write my own routines for this i found a nice image library called FreeImage.

However, when i try to load an image from disk and try to add it to a imagelist it isnt added. Appearently its expecting a different format/handle. I have tried adding the same image as a resource and load it using 'LoadBitmap' wich works without problems. I can also add the image to for ex. main windows background using message 'WM_PAINT' and function 'SetDIBitstodevice'. But how can i add it to an imagelist?

Perhaps noone have used this library or dont think im making any sence at all. Hopefully someone here can help me in the right direction. I have never used alot of the GDI api before, so i am greatfull for any help you can give me. Maybe you know another lib? i need support for .bmp/.jpg/.png and scaling/brightness/contrast functions.

FreeImage Home:
http://freeimage.sourceforge.net/

Thanks in advance,
::mojoo::
Posted on 2004-05-30 10:33:19 by mojoo
I finally found a solution to my problem...so one of the mods can just delete this thread.

: : mojoo : :
Posted on 2004-05-30 11:05:06 by mojoo
maybe you can post your solution here
Posted on 2004-05-30 12:05:51 by comrade
Thanks for pointing that out Comrade! I should have written down the solution for other curious minds. The problem was that FreeImage gives you a FIBITMAP handle in return when loading pictures. This handle is only supported by FreeImage functions (to my knowledge). So we need to convert FIBITMAP to a HBITMAP in order to e.g. display it in a 'STATIC' control or use it in an 'ImageList'.

inv GetDC, 0
mov hDCBitmap, eax
inv FreeImage_Load, FIF_JPEG, 'c:\my_pic.jpg', JPEG_FAST [COLOR=green];// load file from disk[/COLOR]
inv FreeImage_GetInfo, hFIBitmap [COLOR=green];// returns pointer to BITMAPINFO structure[/COLOR]
mov pBMPInfo, eax