Hi Board!

I am new in ASM and here is my first stupid post. :-)
For sure I know that no programming language is faster than ASM - if the code is written in a good manner. But for example what is with a normal loop like

(in VB)
for i = 1 to 100000000
j=j+i
next

Why is a VB or C++ compiler not able to translate such a standard loop into the same machine code like ASM does? Or the other way round: What "extra" code send a compiled VB loop to the cpu?

Best regards from Germany,
Marc
Posted on 2004-06-15 22:09:02 by marc waesche
for alot of algorithms and stuff, a good modern optomised compiler can produce very good assembly language (some they know alot of tricks these days, sometimes making faster assembly language that i would naturally) for some things. however often they don't optomise things as well as you'd hope. why is assembler faster, the main reason is a human is more intelligent and (if htye know what they are doing - and i'm just a beginner on modern processors in this ) can optomise cleverly.. also a human can go over the inner loop again and again, trying to make it go a little bit faster by doign it a little different everytime

and also in assembler a human can use MMX and other such technologies, when most compilers don't use them, or can't use them very well..
a compiler just knows code, it can optomise that according to limited (though quite amazing) techniques these days
a human knows the algorithm as well, plus knows which parts of the code are important to optomise and which don't matter
Posted on 2004-06-15 22:14:01 by klumsy
The first thing to realize is that assembly (in itself) isn't faster - but that you can (often) get stuff faster by writing it yourself, in assembly.